Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) through June 30, 2026

Summary of Bargaining

Collective bargaining is the process of negotiating wages and working conditions with an employer on behalf of all similarly situated workers. As applied to EOU, all full-time instructional faculty and faculty with at least 0.5 employment including library faculty. 

The current three-year AAP contract expires at the end of the next academic year (2021/2022). We’re currently in year two and begin bargaining in the middle of year three (January) with a goal of a new contract going into the new contract year. 

2019-2022 Highlights of Collective Bargaining Agreement Changes

A 4.0% increase effective Sept. 15, 2019 (to be paid retroactively back to 9/15/19), a 2.75% increase effective Sept. 15, 2020, and a 2% increase effective Sept. 15, 2021. In addition, each faculty member shall receive a 1% step increase, effective on Sept. 15 of each year.

Overload pay for undergraduate courses
For courses enrolling fewer than 20 students, overload pay has been increased from $47.50 to $53.05 per student, per credit hour, but no less than a total of $500.

Fixed-term faculty
Reasonable assurance for the upcoming academic year will be given by the last day of Winter quarter each year.

Academic freedom
Faculty are entitled to academic freedom in research and/or scholarship, and in publication of results.

Tenure relinquishment
The TR form will indicate that a faculty member has the right to consult with AAP when preparing their TR proposal.

Intellectual property
Course materials created by a faculty member for instructional purposes (outlines, lectures, exams, etc.) cannot be shared by EOU without the written consent of the faculty member who created the materials.

Archived Collective Bargaining Agreements


A strike is something not taken lightly by our union. We are always invested in working with administration to solve our differing perspectives through mutual conversation. Our goal is to settle issues with our administration at the table. We would only consider a strike if the contract, as presented, is unacceptable to the majority of our members. We would only go on strike if the majority of our membership votes for it.

union demonstration

Want to get more involved in your union?

Our bargaining team will be led by the VP of Bargaining and includes AAP members- DeAnna Timmerman, Ashley Walker and Aaron Thornburg- and our AFT-Oregon representative, Bryan Lally. The VP of Bargaining is required at every bargaining session while everyone else on the bargaining team can rotate in and out as their schedules allow. 

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the bargaining process please contact AAP President Colby Heideman ( or VP of Bargaining Kevin Walker (  

If you have questions about the contract or suggestions or comments about the CBA, please contact your steward or any Executive Committee officer.  We depend on your thoughtful feedback!

Your membership supports our work.

Kevin Walker, JD, VP of Bargaining


Kevin Walker is an Associate Professor in the College of Business and oversees the FSA and EMSA programs as well as teaches in the business and MBA programs. He is also currently EPCC Chair. As VP of Bargaining, Kevin is responsible for overseeing bargaining between AAP and EOU administration.

%d bloggers like this: